Bobbi Brown vs Smashbox

Bobbi Brown Long Wear Gel Eyeliner $21

Smashbox Jet Set Waterproof Eyeliner $22

It’s been a while since I compared products so I thought that a review was due.  Today’s duel is between Smashbox and Bobbi Brown… two of my favorite makeup companies, for bragging rights of the best liquid/gel eyeliner.  Well… not sure how much they’ll be bragging about this but you get my drift.

During the day I always line my eyes with a pencil but at night I love wearing liquid/gel eyeliner.  My eyes usually look more defined and the liner stays put all night without getting smudged.  I have tried Bobbi Brown’s Long Wear Gel eyeliner and Smashbox’s Jet Set Waterproof eyeliner and I have to say that neither of them are perfect.  The gel eyeliner from Bobbi Brown truly is a great eyeliner because it glides on…  so it’s easy to use and dries super fast.  But what I love most about this product is that I’ve had it for several months now and the gel has not yet dried out.  The only downside with Bobbi Brown is that it does tend to smudge a bit at the end of the night.  Smashbox’s eyeliner though is another story.  I bought this product around the same time I bought the Bobbi Brown one and the product is almost completely dried out.  If it wasn’t for the lack of moisture this would definitely be my favorite because you can use it inside your water line and it’s blendable for 60 seconds which is great if you tend to mess up a lot like me.

Overall, both products will get the job done… but neither of them are perfect so the hunt for the perfect liquid/gel eyeliner continues.

Overall Grade:
Bobbi Brown Long Wearing Gel Eyliner: B+
Smashbox Jet Set Waterproof Eyeliner: B

About Pink Layers

Welcome to Pink Layers. I'm very excited to share with you guys my thoughts and ideas on beauty and fashion. My love affair with makeup, clothes and accessories started at a very young age and has only grown with time; unfortunately my bank account has shrunk because of it. Hopefully my blog will help and guide you into making wise purchasing decisions. After all, as Coco Chanel once said, "A girl should be two things... classy and fabulous."
This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bobbi Brown vs Smashbox

  1. Of all the gel liners I’ve tried, the most long lasting one is from Inglot. It dries pretty fast so it’s not good for smudging out but it will stay put like no other eyeliner I’ve used! It’s only $12, pretty amazing!
    Tinna 🙂

Leave a Reply

