St. Tropez Gradual Tanners

I spent most of my childhood, teen years and most of my twenties basking in the sun for hours while on vacation trying to obtain the deepest tan possible. I’ve had my share of sunburns over the years, but for the past five years I have changed tactics. Instead of sun bathing for hours on end or going to tanning beds, I now constantly wear a hat to cover my face and apply plenty of sunscreen even when I’m not tanning. I still expose my body to the sun, but I always wear a high SPF. My face though is ALWAYS covered. Long gone are the days of my sun worshiping. That said, I still love a good tan. What’s a former tan-a-holic to do? Fake it of course!

During the summer months, especially while on vacation, I rely on self tanners to give me that sought after bronze color. I’ve experimented with quite a few over the years and St. Tropez is my favorite. They make amazing self tanners as well as wash-off bronzers… but I recently started using their gradual tanning products and they are amazing!  For some reason I find these products much easier to use than the actual self tanners. The St. Tropez Gradual Body Lotion is so easy to use. Just apply it like a regular moisturizer and voila… you have subtle color over a few days. I’m quite fair, so this gave me a light glow, while moisturizing my skin at the same time. My favorite of the two though is the St. Tropez Gradual Tan Mousse. Just like the moisturizer, this too is a gradual tanner, but the color is much deeper. I actually look tanned! I’ve been using this for the past two weeks and I can see quite a difference. There is no nasty smell with these products either. I apply the mousse with a tanning mitt and I get a very even application (I always recommend using a tanning mitt). No orange color, no streaks. Perfect every time! I go on a beach vacation in a month so I will probably switch to an actual self tanner then so I can get an even deeper tan…  but until then, the Gradual Mousse will be my fake and bake choice.

About Pink Layers

Welcome to Pink Layers. I'm very excited to share with you guys my thoughts and ideas on beauty and fashion. My love affair with makeup, clothes and accessories started at a very young age and has only grown with time; unfortunately my bank account has shrunk because of it. Hopefully my blog will help and guide you into making wise purchasing decisions. After all, as Coco Chanel once said, "A girl should be two things... classy and fabulous."
This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. V says:

    Good to know. I’m too pale to even attempt a deep natural tan so I always stick to the fake self tanners

    • Tonia says:

      Which ones have you tried? Let me know if there’s one I must try

      • V says:

        I really like Cocoa Brown Tan. It’s a smaller line, but it’s good for pale skin. I don’t look orange after I use it, which is a big thing for me

  2. Beautitude says:

    Fab post. I can’t wait to try St. Tropez, I’ve heard mixed reviews but I think I’ll just try it and see what I think myself!
    I’d love if you had a look at my post ‘Confessions of a Tan Addict’ and see what you think 🙂

    Amie xx

    • Tonia says:

      Give St. Tropez a shot. I personally feel they make the best self tanners. Loved your Confessions of a Tan Addict post. I think I may have to try Cocoa Brown. You’re the 2nd person to have recommend it!

Leave a Reply

