Tint Your Skin… Unclog Your Pores

La Mer - The SPF 18 Fluid Tint $65

Laura Mercier Oil-Free Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 - $42

If you’re like me you probably get tired of wearing foundation on a daily basis and are looking to mix-up your daily makeup routine and give your skin a rest from heavy pore-clogging foundations.  Since my skin has a mind of its own, as mentioned here, I always shied away from using tinted moisturizers because I was afraid that they wouldn’t give me enough coverage and as a result my skin’s imperfections would show through.  That said, my aesthetician talked me into trying them out … and boy am I glad I did.

The first one I tried is the cult-favorite Laura Mercier Tinted Oil-Free Moisturizer in  Nude.  This moisturizer is perfect for day time wear and on those days when my skin is behaving and I don’t need a lot of coverage.  It evened out my skin-tone and gave me a hint of color… perfect for when I am on-the-go.  The oil-free formula is perfect for acne-prone skin and it’s SPF 20… perfect for people like me who do not use sunscreen on a daily basis.  Even though it’s advertised as a lightweight formula, the moisturizer did feel heavy during application but once it was on my skin I could barely tell it was there.  My only pet-peeve with this moisturizer was that it made my skin look very shiny and oily.

Next up, I decided to try La Mer’s Fluid Tint in Light (I am a bit obsessed with this brand so you’ll be seeing plenty of La Mer reviews on this blog).  The fluid tint has an SPF 18, is water-based and it’s meant to create a smooth even finish on your skin.  After trying it out for several weeks, I have to say that I love, love, love this product.  The fluid tint not only smoothed out my complexion, but it kept my skin oil-free for most of the day.  Huge bonus if you don’t want to look like an oil slick.

If you need to conceal moderate to heavy acne or scars both of these products may not be for you since they don’t offer superior coverage… but you may want to try them out and use a concealer on top.  It’s always nice to give your skin a break from heavy foundations once in a while.

Overall Grade:
Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer – Oil Free: B
La Mer The SPF 18 Fluid Tint: A

About Pink Layers

Welcome to Pink Layers. I'm very excited to share with you guys my thoughts and ideas on beauty and fashion. My love affair with makeup, clothes and accessories started at a very young age and has only grown with time; unfortunately my bank account has shrunk because of it. Hopefully my blog will help and guide you into making wise purchasing decisions. After all, as Coco Chanel once said, "A girl should be two things... classy and fabulous."
This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Tint Your Skin… Unclog Your Pores

  1. Pingback: My Beach Makeup Routine | Pink Layers

Leave a comment